First Bday Invites

A few years ago I made these very time consuming pretty birthday invitations for Taylor’s birthday party. When I was done I had spent more time and money on them than they were really worth and I said never again. But never again came apparently because I did it for a baby shower that I hosted and now I have done it again for Bradley’s first birthday.

This is probably the last time I’ll get to throw a 1st birthday party and I’m going to do it like the other ones BIG, all the way down to the invitations. What else is my cricut for?? Ok so maybe that isn’t the best excuse since I use it for many other things and will be using it for something special for I’ll man’s 1st birthday.

When Bradley was born he had to stay in the NICU for 13 days and the doctor told us it was important for Bradley to hear my voice as much as possible. Since I was having to go home from the hospital and he was staying Adam got us a monkey that I could record my voice and the nurses could play it for Bradley. Ever since then monkeys have kinda been his thing. Since this birthday is probably the only one I’ll have a say in, he is having a monkey themed party.

I used my cricut and the new arrival cartridge to cut out the monkey and your invited lettering. I used a glue stick to glue the pieces of the monkey together. But I used my xyron create a sticker for attaching the monkey to the card and the lettering to the card. I printed the cards on 8 1/2 x 11 paper and cut them in half. I decided to use wiggle eyes for the eyes and I attached them with mini glue dots.

Now to get some envelopes and in the mail they go. Next is the decorations for his party!!

Now I wish I had of bought the cricut cake a few years ago when I saw it on sale because I’d so make a cake to match the invites if I had of.

20130205-170649.jpg

Let me know what you think!!