The Unknown

I don’t know about you but in my opinion the hardest part about having a baby is they can’t tell you what is wrong.

Ever since Bradley was born he has had lots of tummy issues. First he didn’t go to the bathroom like he should, then we found out he has reflux, then he wouldn’t eat. Needless to say he has not been the happiest baby. So how do you really know when it’s time to go to the doctor??

The past few weeks have been rough. Most nights I have been up for a few hours non-stop trying to sooth him. I would decide ok so maybe we need to go to the doctor and then we would have several nights of rest. Finally last night I decided we are going to the doctor and when I got up this morning I was even more set on going to the doctor. I did not get much rest.

We went and saw the pediatrician and I will say I would highly recommend any of the doctors in the group where I take my children. Anyone who knows me knows that is rare from me because I have seen the mistakes doctors make but the group we use if they can’t figure it out they will talk to someone else or even find another doctor to exam the child to help find a solution.

This morning we saw Dr. Blair. He did a thorough exam on Bradley and did not find anything that could be the cause of his fussiness.

My first thought was his ears after his recent ear infection and him pulling at his left ear the past few days but they were clear. I don’t think much of him pulling at his right ear because he does it all the time and after having them checked about 6 times and them always being clear I usually feel like it is just the eczema on the right side of his face bothering him.

My other thought had been his teeth. He has two teeth he has been working on for about two months. You can see the bubble on his gums but the teeth have yet to break the gum. Dr. Blair said the teeth are still far enough under the gum that he does not see them as being the issue.

Dr. Blair said it could be related to his reflux if he is refluxing and it is bothering him and making it difficult for Bradley to rest. So I called his GI doctor, Dr. Maclin.

I had spoken with her office about a month ago because I felt like then it was his reflux bothering him but the medicine they wanted to put him on they said may make him sleepy so I was hesitant to have him put on it. But after him have a thorough exam I decided to give the medicine a try. They called the medicine in but it’s a compound so it won’t be ready for a few days. Hopefully this medicine won’t make him sleepy and it will help him.

Let me know what you think!!

