An Apple a Day Keeps the Doctor Away

That’s what they say anyway and my children believe it.

Ever since Bradley was born he has had lots of tummy issues and has taken medicine basically since birth. Anyone who knows me this is something I am completely against. I do not like giving my children medicine and even more so not my newborn.

However, Bradley has slow to empty and this issue caused him to have lots of feeding issues which caused him to lose weight and landed him in Children’s Hospital. We finally found a medicine that helped him go to the bathroom so he would eat but wouldn’t give him diarrhea. Well sometimes it does because the slightest change in his eating habits effects how the medicine affects him.

Starting solids has been rough. One day they make him extremely constipated and then the next day the medicine has given him diarrhea.

Recently I introduced apples. Needless to say Bradley does not really like them. But I like the effects the apples have on his tummy. Which it makes sense because when one of my big kids complain of a tummy ache I always ask “have you pottied lately”. They always respond “no”. So I give them some apple juice and the next day it’s all better. I have learned when Bradley is having issues going to the bathroom I can give him some apples instead of the medicine and he will go to the bathroom.

Ok, I know you didn’t want to know about my children’s bowel moments. But all parents understand how important this can be. More importantly I can give Bradley one less medicine each day.

We recently added another medicine for his reflux and I was very hesitate to add another medicine but after a month of no sleep and the doctor saying there is nothing else wrong with him but his reflux I finally agreed to start the medicine and it has greatly helped him so being able to stop a different medicine is a blessing.

2 thoughts on “An Apple a Day Keeps the Doctor Away

  1. Sheena, I think it is great, the thoughtfulness you put into the care and raising of your children. They are very lucky to have a mom like you. Adam is very lucky too. šŸ™‚

Let me know what you think!!

