What’s a Week?

I never would have imagined a week would make such a difference. Noah was born at 37 weeks, considered full term and had no problems at all. Bradley was born at 36 weeks, considered a premie and has had issue after issue.

First 13 days in the NICU for blood sugar and elevated heart rate. Next 3 days in Children’s for failure to thrive. So now my 9 lb 7 oz premie has weight gaining issues. Then reflux and slow to empty issues. We finally seem to get past all of that to be told “Bradley has some developmental delays.”

A few weeks ago we went for an evaluation with early intervention. I talked to them earlier this week and we were referred to another office. I spoke with that office earlier this week and set up an appointment for further testing. Today I receive a phone call from them and Bradley was accepted into the program but not because of the delays we had previously seen. However being accepted into the program they work as a team to determine all services Bradley needs. I have an appointment with them in a few weeks and that will be determined and goals will be written.

Today I was told Bradley has a 25% delay in communication and a 20% delay in motor skills. The communication delay is what got him in the program but was the last thing I expected. I had always felt like Bradley did well with his communication even though he hasn’t said anything but he is only 7 months and being a premie considered 6 months on his development.

Let me know what you think!!

