Friday Food #1

This week since I have been sick I have done less cooking than normal. Actually I am not sure if I have done any cooking this week. Well, I did put pizza in the oven one night. But Adam has done most of the cooking this week.

Monday we (mostly Adam) made our homemade veggie soup. Between sickness and cool weather veggie soup sounded really good.

Tuesday we had frozen pizza. I know boring but I will say the garlic bread tombstone pizza is awesome. Alyssa does not like pizza but after being made to eat this pizza she now ask for it.

Wednesday we had a meeting at the school so Adam took half the day off and was home early so he cooked salmon patties, black eyed peas, noodles and corn bread. We made salmon patties one weekend and now Taylor will ask for them.

Thursday I decided we would have leftover veggie soup. I forgot the hamburger meat was twice as much as we normally use so we had A LOT of it left. Even after eating it twice (Noah eating multiple bowls both times) we had enough leftover that we froze 8 single serving bags and 1 double serving bag.

Since I am not sharing and reviewing any Pinterest recipes I’ll share our homemade veggie soup recipe with everyone. Sorry I didn’t think to take a picture of it. Like I previously said it freezes really well.

 

Homemade Veggie Soup

1 lb hamburger meat
1 large can of veg all
1 small can of veg all
1 can of any veggie of your choice (I usually pick whatever we have the most of in the pantry)
2 cans of diced tomatoes
Dales Sauce

First you brown and drain the hamburger meat. Then you pour in enough Dales sauce to even coat the hamburger meat and let it set for at least 30 minutes. The longer it sets the better it is but 30 minutes is plenty of time. Normally I don’t have enough sauce in it that its needed but if it is needed drain the hamburger meat from the Dale’s sauce.

While the meat is in the Dales sauce, pour all of your veggies into a large pan and let it simmer. Do not drain your veggies. We made that mistake one time and added water instead and we could tell a big difference.

Pour in your hamburger meat, bring it up to a boil to heat it through and through. Then reduce heat to low and let it simmer. The longer it simmers the better.

When I think about it early enough I will let it simmer for a few hours. It lets all the favors mix better and taste so good.

Let me know what you think!!

