First Shirt

Recently I was at my grandmother’s house and we were cleaning some stuff out of her storage building and she gave me a bunch of fabric. I found some really cute turquoise and brown fabric in all of it and knew I wanted to make something with it but I wasn’t sure what. I finally decided I wanted to make something for myself with this fabric. You see turquoise is mine and Adam’s color so it was more me than the girls.

I decided to make a pillowcase type shirt.  I have seen tons of tutorials on a pillowcase dress but instead of a dress for a child I decided I’d make a shirt for myself. I have made many shirts but I usually start with a basic plain shirt and I embellish it so this was new for me. I know of a few things I will do different next time but all and all I am pleased with it. I actually still have a good bit of fabric left and plan on making both girls a shirt to match mine. Then all three of us will have matching shirts.

Right after I finished this shirt one of my friends contacted me about a photo shoot. I was nominated as a Mom who deserved a day of pampering. There were four of us women. We all got make overs and a photo shoot. Our make up was done by Beth Posey and our photo shoot was done by Brandy from Tyler Treasures Photography. Both women did a wonderful job and were so much fun to spend an afternoon with. Thanks again ladies!! The photos in this post are from the photo shoot so you can see their work.

First Shirt

First Shirt

First Shirt

15 thoughts on “First Shirt

  1. thanks for the sweet comment on my blog! you made my day 🙂
    i love this shirt – you did an awesome job!
    i’m your newest follower – blessings!
    janiene

  2. Pingback: Thrifty Thursday Link Party | Link Up Your Budget Friendly Blog Posts

  3. that shirt turned out super cute! I’ve seen a lot of dresses like this, but I am loving the shirt idea. Thanks for linking up to Tasteful Tuesdays and for the link back :o) Can’t wait to see what you bring next week. Emily @ Nap-Time Creations
    oh, and I just posted an amazing round-up from last weeks party… stop on over and check it out!

Let me know what you think!!

