Good-Bye Pink Wall

Last summer we decided to decorate our girls’ room in hot pink, lime green and bright orange.  We got one wall painted pink before things changed.  Our daughters do NOT get along.  You see one has to talk 24/7 and the other has to have quiet time.  The one who needs quiet time couldn’t go in her bedroom and have that time because she was sharing a room with the other one who even in a room all alone is talking.  Our oldest son is also like our oldest daughter and he also needs quiet time so they can both go in the same bedroom and have quiet time and everything be ok.  On a spur of the moment decision we did some rearranging and this ended with our oldest son sleeping next to a hot pink wall.  But he is so selfless that he said “that’s ok”.  He knew his sisters needed this rearrange sooner rather than later and that as soon as we could the hot pink wall would be gone.

Good-bye Pink Wall

Several months have gone by since this rearrange.  It has been one thing after another and timing has not worked out well for us on painting the hot pink wall.  This past week I went to Lowe’s and got a bunch of different paint chips, spreaded them out all over his bed and decided on two colors.  I needed a wall color and a contracting color for some of the stuff in his room.  I am so glad I did it this a way too instead of just picking colors on impulse because if I had of well, we would have ended having to repaint the wall again because the original color I picked was not the final color I picked.

Most people who know Noah knows he is color blind or red/green color deficient is actually the proper term for it.  He can see colors but he can’t pick them out and he doesn’t see them the same as most people.  Green is orange, orange is green, blue is purple, purple is blue, lots of different shades are all a tan color and so on.  Noah has done a wonderful job adapting to this and it has not affecting him in school at all.  When he tells me something is a color and I correct him he doesn’t get mad.  He simply says, “Well, you know I’m color blind.”  Noah is really a trooper.  So while he says he likes the color his room will be I am not actually sure that he knows what color it will be.

His room is decorated underseas.  His bedspread is brown will bluish/green, tan, etc circles on it.  He wants sharks and ocean fish on his wall.  So I picked the color on his bedspread that looks the most like underseas for his accent wall color.  Since him and Alyssa are sharing a room we have set up their furniture so that it divides the room and we are in the process of making a divider for the room too but painting the walls is the first task to complete.  Hopefully we will get that done soon but its taking much longer than expected because I am redecorating three kids’ bedrooms at the same time and trying to pick colors is not the easiest.  Each child has an accent wall and I’m trying to pick a neutral color that will work for the other walls for all three kids.

Keep an eye out for more projects going on in Noah’s room over the next few weeks.  I have four other projects that I hope to get done and be close to having his room done.  The girls keep changing their minds on how they want their rooms decorated so Noah’s projects are more on top of the list to complete.  Also I am auditioning for So You Think You’re Crafty next week and I have several projects I am working on for this contest.  Make sure you check it out Monday and vote for your favorite project.  Fingers crossed I make the audition cut.

One thought on “Good-Bye Pink Wall

  1. Pingback: Tuesday To Do #3 | Anderson Family

Let me know what you think!!

