Ombre Painted Bottle Lamp

In case you missed it the results for the paint projects are up on SYTYC. I came in sixth place with my ombre painted bottle lamp.

Ombre Painted Bottle Lamp

I made this project to go in Noah’s room. He decided he wanted his room decorated an undersea theme so everything in his room is a bluish green color. Since it is made to look like the sea all the colors are not the exact same. I mixed the paint for the bottle with some neon colored food dye and mod podge. I used the neon green and blue and just added it and mixed it till I had a color I liked. I mixed it in a baby food jar so I could easily save the left over and who knows I may use it for something else in Noah’s room.

Ombre Painted Bottle Lamp

I started out with a clear bottle and then I painted two coats of the paint on the entire bottle. Once that was dry I painted two coats of the paint from the neck of the bottle down. Once that was dry I painted two coats of the paint on the bottom half of the bottle. Well, I let it dry between each of the two coats also.

Supplies for Ombre Painted Bottle Lamp

Once it was dry I used some parts I got at Lowe’s to make a lamp from a bottle. Then I added a lamp shade. This was a trick. I bought three different lamp shades before I found one I was happy with. The first one didn’t fit so I took it back and got a different one. With the second one I decided to paint it before I really made sure I liked the shape of the shade on the lamp. Not sure what I was thinking. But between deciding that paint it was not the way to go and deciding it didn’t fit the lamp well I had to go back to Hobby Lobby to get a third lamp shade. At this point I had debated on using a different bottle altogether so I didn’t take the lamp with me to Hobby Lobby. I picked out a lamp shade and I decided instead of painting it I was going to cover it in fabric and use ribbon for the trim. I found some fabric that looked like water and was bluish green. Again it didn’t have to match exactly but it looks really well with his room. I got two different ribbons and surprisingly both of them matched the paint I bought exactly. You can see the paint in the Chevron painted frame project I made for Noah’s room.

Ombre Painted Bottle Lamp

Now Noah has a cute new lamp for his room. I have fabric to cover one of his throw pillows and the cushion for his bookcase seat. I have a few more projects for his room and it will be complete.

Thank you to everyone who voted for me last week on SYTYC and don’t forget to head on over there again this week to vote for your favorite project and I can’t wait to tell you next week which one was mine.

3 thoughts on “Ombre Painted Bottle Lamp

  1. Pingback: Undersea Pillow | Anderson Family

Let me know what you think!!

